Michael J. Toohey Named Saratoga Hospital Board Chair

Jan. 25, 2021

Michael J. Toohey Named Saratoga Hospital Board Chair

SARATOGA SPRINGS, N.Y., Jan. 25, 2021—Michael J. Toohey has been elected chairperson of the Saratoga Hospital board of trustees, effective Jan. 1.

The prominent attorney and community leader has served on the board since 2013, most recently as vice chairperson. He also is a member of the board of directors of Albany Medical Center, Saratoga Hospital’s affiliate in the Albany Med Health System.

Joining Toohey on the executive committee of the Saratoga Hospital board are Theresa M. Skaine, vice chairperson; N. Keith Stewart, treasurer; and Heather M. Ward, secretary.

“Our hospital and the Saratoga region benefit enormously from Mike Toohey’ s leadership, experience and perspective, especially during these uniquely challenging times,” Saratoga Hospital President and CEO Angelo Calbone said. 

“We are extremely fortunate to have a board of highly qualified, dedicated volunteers who care deeply about this community,” Calbone added. “We could not be in better hands.”

Toohey recently retired after more than 45 years with the Law Offices of Snyder, Kiley, Toohey, Corbett & Cox, where he earned a reputation for his expertise in land use, planning, project financing and industrial development. As the author of Planned Unit Development legislation for cities and towns throughout Saratoga County, Toohey has shaped land use and development across the region. 

The longtime Saratoga Springs resident has an impressive track record of community service and leadership. In addition to the hospital boards, Toohey currently serves on the board of the Double H Hole in the Woods Ranch. He was past president of the boards of the Saratoga Springs City Center Authority, the Saratoga County YMCA, the Saratoga County Chamber of Commerce, the Saratoga Springs Rotary Club, and the Saratoga Springs Friendly Sons of St. Patrick. He also served on the boards of Catholic Charities of Saratoga, Warren and Washington Counties and the Historical Society of Saratoga Springs. He has earned local, state and international recognition for his professional and civic contributions.

Other Saratoga Hospital trustees are Angelo G. Calbone, Saratoga Hospital president and CEO; Raimundo C. Archibold Jr.; David J. Collins; Kari P. Cushing; Susan Law Dake; Dr. Kevin Dooley; Judith A. Ekman; Dr. Steven M. Frisch; Michael H. Iacolucci; Frank L. Messa; Dr. Marianne A. Mustafa; Alan C. Oppenheim; Elizabeth Wood Pustolka; J. Thomas Roohan and Janice M. White.


About Saratoga Hospital: Saratoga Hospital is the Saratoga region’s leading healthcare provider and the only acute-care facility in Saratoga County. The hospital’s multispecialty practice, Saratoga Hospital Medical Group, provides care at more than 20 locations, ensuring easy access to programs and services that can have the greatest impact on individual and community health. Saratoga Hospital has maintained Magnet designation for nursing excellence since 2004. The hospital is an affiliate of the Albany Med Health System, which also includes Albany Med, Columbia Memorial Health and Glens Falls Hospital. The region’s largest locally governed health system, it has 1,520 beds, more than 800 physicians and 125 outpatient locations. For more information: www.saratogahospital.org or www.facebook.com/SaratogaHospital.

# # #

Peter Hopper
Director, Marketing and Communications

25 Jan 2021